Resources

Neuroscience, Mindfulness, and Psychotherapy
  • Norman Doidge: The Brain That Changes Itself: Stories of Personal Triumph from the Frontiers of Brain Science (normandoidge.com)
  • Rick Hanson: Buddha’s Brain: The Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love and Wisdom (rickhanson.net); (wisebrain.org)
  • Jon Kabat-Zinn: Mindfulness for Beginners: Reclaiming the Present Moment—And Your Life; Full Catastrophe Living; Wherever You Go, There You Are (jonkabat-zinn.com)
  • Francine Shapiro: Getting Past Your Past: Take Control of Your Life with Self-Help Techniques from EMDR Therapy
  • Daniel Siegel: Mindsight: The New Science of Personal Transformation (drdansiegel.com)
  • Ronald Siegel: The Mindfulness Solution: Everyday Practices for Everyday Problems (mindfulness-solution.com)
  • Ann Arbor Center for Mindfulness: (aacfm.com)
  • Mark Nepo: The Book of Awakening: Having the Life You Want by Being Present to the Life You Have
  • Tara Brach: (tarabrach.com)
  • Apps for learning mindfulness skills: Calm, Headspace

For Parents

  • Susan Kaiser Greenland: The Mindful Child
  • Thich Nhat Hanh and The Plum Village Community: Planting Seeds: Practicing Mindfulness with Children (with CD)
  • Myla and Jon Kabat-Zinn: Everyday Blessings: The Inner Work of Mindful Parenting

For Kids

  • Kerry Lee McLean: Peaceful Piggy Meditation; Moody Cow Meditates
  • Tara Guber and Leah Kalish: Yoga Pretzels: 50 Fun Yoga Activities for Kids and Grown-Ups

For Therapists

  • Ron Kurtz: Body-Centered Psychotherapy: The Hakomi Method (hakomiinstitute.com)
  • Stephen Porges: The Polyvagal Theory: Neurophysiological Foundations of Emotion, Attachment, Communication, and Self-Regulation (stephenporges.com)
  • Allan Schore: The Science of the Art of Psychotherapy (allanschore.com)
  • Francine Shapiro: Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR): Basic Principles, Protocols, and Procedures; EMDR: The Break-Through Therapy for Overcoming Anxiety, Stress, and Trauma (emdr.com)
  • Psychotherapy Networker: (psychotherapynetworker.org)
  • Janina Fisher: (janinafisher.com)
  • Sensorimotor Psychotherapy Institute: (sensorimotor.org)

Anxiety and Depression
  • Edmund J. Bourne: The Anxiety and Phobia Workbook
  • Susan M. Orsillo and Lizabeth Roemer: The Mindful Way Through Anxiety
  • Mark Williams, John Teasdale, Zindel Segal, and Jon Kabat-Zinn: The Mindful Way Through Depression: Freeing Yourself from Chronic Unhappiness (with Guided Mediation CD)
  • Carolyn Daitch’s hypnotherapy resources: (anxiety-treatment.com)
  • Belleruth Naperstak’s guided imagery CDs: (healthjourneys.com)
  • Recovery International: (lowselfhelpsystems.org)
  • Margaret Wehrenberg: The 10 Best-Ever Anxiety Management Techniques

For Parents

  • Tamar Chansky: Freeing Your Child from Anxiety
  • John S. March and Karen Mulle Friesen: OCD in Children and Adolescents: A Cognitive Behavioral Treatment Manual
  • John S. March: Talking Back to OCD: The Program That Helps Kids and Teens Say “No Way”–and Parents Say “Way to Go”
  • Elizabeth DuPont Spencer, Robert DuPont, and Caroline DuPont: The Anxiety Cure for Kids: A Guide for Parents

For Kids

  • Dawn Huebner: What to Do When Your Brain Gets Stuck (OCD); What to Do When You Worry Too Much
  • Aureen Pinto-Wagner: Up and Down the Worry Hill
  • Lynn Lyons (lynnlyonsnh.com)
  • Heather Forbes: Help for Billy: A Beyond Consequences Approach to Helping Challenging Children in the Classroom (beyondconsequences.com)

Trauma
  • Pat Ogden and Janina Fisher: Sensorimotor Psychotherapy: Interventions for Trauma and Attachment
  • Lisa Ferentz: Letting Go of Self-Destructive Behaviors: A Workbook of Hope and Healing; Treating Self-Destructive Behaviors in Trauma Survivors: A Clinician’s Guide
  • Peter Levine: Waking the Tiger: Healing Trauma: The Innate Capacity to Transform Overwhelming Experiences
  • Babette Rothschild: Eight Keys to Safe Trauma Recovery: Take-Charge Strategies for Reclaiming Your Life
  • Belleruth Naparstek: Invisible Heroes: Survivors of Trauma and How they Heal
  • Elaine Miller-Keras and Laurie Leitch: Trauma Resiliency Model Workbook
  • Deena Rosenbloom and Mary Beth Williams: Life After Trauma: A Workbook for Healing
  • Suzette Boon, Kathy Steele, and Onno van der Hart: Coping with Trauma-Related Dissociation: Skills Training for Patients and Therapists
  • Trauma Resource Institute (traumaresourceinstitute.com)
  • Trauma Center (traumacenter.org/about/about_landing.php)
  • Susan Kramer (susankramer.com/meditation.html)
  • Melissa Institute (melissainstitute.org/handouts.html)
  • National Child Traumatic Stress Network (nctsn.org)
  • Health Journeys (healthjourneys.com)
  • Janina Fisher (janinafisher.com)
  • Sensorimotor Psychotherapy Institute (sensorimotor.org)
  • Carolyn Spring (carolynspring.co.uk)
  • An Infinite Mind (aninfinitemind.com)

For Therapists

  • Bonnie Badenoch: Being a Brain-Wise Therapist: A Practical Guide to Interpersonal Neurobiology; Workbook for the Brain-Savvy Therapist: A Companion Guide to Being a Brain-Wise Therapist
  • Pat Ogden, Kekuni Minton, and Claire Pain: Trauma and the Body: A Sensorimotor Approach to Psychotherapy (sensorimotor.org)
  • Lisa Ferentz: Treating Self-Destructive Behaviors in Trauma Survivors (lisaferentz.com)
  • Babette Rothschild: The Body Remembers: The Psychophysiology of Trauma and Trauma Treatment

Couples
  • John Gottman: The Seven Principles for Making Marriage Work
  • Harville Hendrix: Getting the Love You Want: A Guide for Couples (gettingtheloveyouwant.com)
  • Susan Johnson: Hold Me Tight (iceeft.com)
  • Barry McCarthy: Rekindling Desire: A Step by Step Program to Help No-Sex and Low-Sex Marriages
  • Janis Abrahms Spring: After the Affair: Healing the Pain and Rebuilding Trust When a Partner has been Unfaithful
  • Joe Kort (joekort.com)
  • Marcia Ferstenfeld (marciaferstenfeld.com/)

Eating Issues
  • Evelyn Tribble and Elyse Resch: Intuitive Eating: A Revolutionary Program that Works
  • Jeneen Roth: Women, Food, and God: An Unexpected Path to Almost Everything

Addictions

ADHD, Executive Functioning, and Behavior Management
  • Daniel G. Amen: Healing ADD: The Breakthrough Program that Allows you to See and Heal the 6 Types of ADD
  • Edward M. Hallowell: Driven to Distraction: Recognizing and Coping with Attention Deficit Disorder

For Parents

  • Ross Greene: The Explosive Child
  • Peg Dawson and Richard Guare: Smart but Scattered:The Revolutionary Executive Skills Approach to Helping Kids Reach their Potential
  • Howard Glasser and Jennifer Easley: Transforming the Difficult Child: The Nurtured Heart Approach
  • Alan E. Kazdin: The Kazdin Method for Parenting the Defiant Child

For Kids

  • Dawn Huebner: What To Do When Tempers Flare

Parenting
  • Daniel Siegel: Brainstorm: The Power and Purpose of the Teenage Brain
  • Adele Faber and Elaine Mazlish: How to Talk so Kids Will Listen and Listen so Kids will Talk; Siblings without Rivalry: How to help your Children Live Together So You Can Live Too
  • Heather Forbes: Beyond Consequences, Logic, and Control: A Love-Based Approach to Helping Children with Severe Behaviors; Help for Billy: A Beyond Consequences Approach to Helping Challenging Children in the Classroom (beyondconsequences.com)
  • Daniel Hughes: Attachment Focused Parenting
  • Mary Sheedy Kurcinka: Raising your Spirited Child
  • Daniel Siegel and Mary Hartzell: Parenting from the Inside Out: How a Deeper Self-Understanding Can Help Raise Children who Thrive
  • Daniel Siegel and Tina Payne Bryson: The Whole-Brain Child: 12 Revolutionary Strategies to Nurture Your Child’s Developing Mind, Survive Everyday Parenting Struggles, and Help your Family Thrive
  • Kim Jon Payne: Simplicity Parenting

Development

For Kids

  • American Girl: The Feelings Book: The Care and Keeping of your Emotions; The Care and Keeping of You; and The American Girls Guide to Friendships

Temperament
  • Susan Cain: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking

For Parents

  • Mary Sheedy Kurcinka: Raising Your Spirited Child

Divorce

For Parents

  • Judith Wallerstein: What About the Kids: Raising Your Children Before, During, and After Divorce
  • Neil Kalter: Growing Up with Divorce
  • Gary Neuman: Helping Your Kids to Cope with Divorce the Sandcastles Way

For Kids

  • Marc Brown: Dinosaurs Divorce

Grief
  • Sameet Kumar: Grieving Mindfully: A Compassionate and Spiritual Guide to Coping with Loss
  • Marilyn Sullivan: A Patch of Comfort: A Guide for Helping Someone in Grief
  • Arbor Hospice (arborhospice.org)
  • GriefNet (griefnet.org)

For Kids

  • Laurie Krasny Brown and Marc Brown: When Dinosaurs Die: A Guide to Understanding Death
  • Bryan Mellonie and Robert Ingpen: Lifetimes: The Beautiful Way to Explain Death to Children
  • Adolph Moser and David Melton: Don’t Despair on Thursdays!: The Children’s Grief-Management Book
  • Pat Schwiebert, Chuck DeKlyen, and Taylor Bliss: Tear Soup: A Recipe for Healing After Loss
  • Cornelia Spelman: After Charlotte’s Mom Died
  • Judith Viorst: The Tenth Good Thing about Barney
  • Ele’s Place (elesplace.org)
  • The Michigan Grieving Children’s Network (kidsgrief.org)
  • KidsAid (kidsaid.com)

Buddhism/Psychology
  • Joseph Goldstein: The Experience of Insight and Seeking the Heart of Wisdom (with Jack Kornfield)
  • Sharon Salzberg: Lovingkindness: The Revolutionary Art of Happiness
  • Thich Nhat Hanh: The Miracle of Mindfulness
  • Suzuki Roshi: Zen Mind, Beginner’s Mind
  • Pema Chodron: Taking the Leap, The Wisdom of No Escape, and When Things Fall Apart
  • Tara Brach: (tarabrach.com)

For Kids

  • Thich Nhat Hanh: Each Breath a Smile

Local Bookstores and Online Resources for Products
  • Crazy Wisdom Bookstore and Tea Room: 114 S. Main St. Ann Arbor; (734) 665-2757; (crazywisdom.net)
  • Nicola’s Books: Westgate Shopping Center, 2513 Jackson Rd. Ann Arbor; (734) 662-0600; (nicolasbooks.com)
  • The Self Esteem Shop: 32839 Woodward Ave. Royal Oak, MI; (248) 549-9900; (selfesteemshop.com)
  • Weighted Blankets (contact Sally Westover at sally.westover51@yahoo.com or (603) 454-8147 for personal order from master quilter)
  • Magination Press (apa.org/pubs/magination/index.aspx)

Note: Partners in Healing and its affiliates are not responsible for the content, claims or representations of the listed sites.


 

pageImage_resources

Photo above by Carrie Hatcher-Kay